Grades in KM

Krav Maga – Grading System

A core belief of Krav Maga is that the ability to remain safe and effectively execute self defense techniques under pressure is far more important than receiving a new colour belt. However, we do recognize that aiming for a higher grade can motivate people to train harder and therefore improve.

KM ranks are structured into:


Beginner levels – P1 to P5


Intermediate and Instructor levels – G1 to G5


Advanced, police and military instructor levels – E1 to E5

In addition, there are three Master levels

Imi granted up to Master 3 / Expert 8

Krav Maga unlike many other martial arts, is a very fastprogressing system. Part of its design was driven by the need to train people very quickly and very efficiently. Consequently, it typically takes a person of average physical ability only several months before significant progress is achieved and noticeable.

Each level has a specific curriculum and requirements.

Climbing from one level to the next in the Practitioner and Graduate level respectively takes about 4 to 6 months of consistent training.

It takes between one to four years to pass from one Expert

Krav Maga India along with IKMF, Israel grants its students certificates for Practitioner, Graduate, Expert and Master levels.